If I have to hear one more time that Harry Potter signifies the death of someone’s childhood, I am gonna scream. 

I purchased the first book when my daughter was 2 upon the recommendation of Rosie O’Donnell who still had her talk show.  I didn’t read it to her until the 4th one came out when she was 7 at which point, we quickly caught up on all 4.  My daughter LOVED them.  I LOVED them.  I would read to her at bedtime and then go to my own bed and read ahead after she fell asleep.  I was thrilled to share with her all the collecting and dressing up.  And when the movies started premiering, my daughter herself was about 11, same as Harry in the first book/movie.  She literally grew along side the movie characters.

I don’t think my daughter thought of this as the “death” of her childhood.  It was something that enhanced it, bringing great memories.  But it isn’t gone.  She still has the movies and the books.  And for me, I was an adult who immersed herself in the books and movies just as fully.  There was no childhood to die.  For me, Harry Potter transcends the boundaries of adulthood and childhood.  And I am grateful to have had it in my life, my daughter’s life and TO STILL HAVE IT!!!!

